Skip to content

HDD Upgrade Update – Install Times

September 26, 2008

***UPDATE***

Well another friend with a 60gb stock PS3 installed Wipeout and his install time was 2 minutes 40 secs, which ends up being only 20 seconds longer than mine with the upgraded drive.

So it seems that my new drive is definitely faster, but more importantly, it seems like the 40gb PS3 is equipped with a slower drive here. Interesting. ***

Welcome back everyone. I will be updating the HDD Upgrade Post with the following information.

Today I and a friend both downloaded and installed Wipeout HD which clocks in at just under 1GB. I installed it on my upgraded hard drive which is now a 200GB, 7200rpm, 16mb cache drive. My friend installed him on a stock 40gb PS3.

My install time from the moment I pressed ‘X’ was: 2 minutes 20 seconds
My friends was: 4 minutes 49 seconds.

So it seems with my 7200rpm and 16mb cache drive, the install time was cut in more than half! Pretty impressive results.

Future hard drive upgraders may want to keep this in mind when selecting their new drive.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

